Euthanasia Technician (Initial Training)
Euthanasia is an unfortunate but necessary part of the animal welfare field. This class covers all of the Texas DSHS mandated topics as well as a hands on practical, necropsy, and decap.
Texas laws to be covered include (but are not limited to):
April 2015 Edition of TX HSC 821, Subchapter C
2013 edition of Texas Administrative Code 169.81-.84
2020 Edition of the AVMA Guidelines for the Euthanasia of Animals.
If you have never taken an euthanasia course, or if it has been more than 3.5 years, then this is the course you would take.
DSHS approved for 12 hours CEU
Euthanasia Technician (Review Level)
The review level (sometimes referred to as euthanasia recert) can be taken if you have taken your initial training within the last three years and you have not lapsed past the three year mark.
*Though you are legally allowed to take the review level if you have lapsed more than 3 years, please note Humane Educators of Texas policy is that if your last training is more than 6 months lapsed, we require you take the initial level again.*
**DSHS approved for 8 hours CEU
This class is ideally suited for:
ACOs, shelter staff, LVTs, RVTs, vet assistants, or anyone who is tasked with performing humane euthanasia as part of their job duties.
"Though I’ve realized the importance of this training for a while now and have actively asked my previous employer to place me in a class, I have to admit I was still dreading actually attending. I can’t say how much I appreciate your sense of humor in dealing with such a heavy topic. While you kept us laughing, you also showed obvious respect and empathy for the animals we all deal with. I walked away from your class feeling not only more knowledgeable, but also more empowered. Thank you for that! " - C.G.
"Thank you for providing a wonderful learning environment and supportive community." - A.R.